Review: Love Sucks by Sage Collins

Love Sucks by Sage CollinsTitle: Love Sucks
Author: Sage Collins
Publisher: Musa Publishing
ISBN: 9781619371859
Tags: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance
Hearts: ♥ ♥

Mailee is about to answer the age-old question: “How much love would a love sucker suck if a love sucker fell in love?”

Mailee’s greatest wish is to be an ordinary teenage girl, but thanks to one stupid demon gene she consumes love from any human she touches. The only person she can touch is her best friend Eric, a hot lust-drainer. Except for slight hand-brushes to keep from starving, she avoids humans.

Until she meets Logan, a diabetic and the first human who could understand Mailee’s diet angst. She grows closer to him, but each touch risks his love for her. If she wants a normal relationship, she’ll have to become human. But the only way requires her to free and be infected by demons representing the Seven Deadly Sins. Sloth? Pride? No problem. But when wrath-infected Mailee punches the cheerleader who’s making eyes at Eric, she realizes getting through the sins might cost too much.

Like Eric. Because if she turns human, he’ll be the only one she can’t touch.

Review

Mailee is a Haustrix, a descendant of demons who live by eating people’s feelings. In her case, she sucks up all the  love a person has. Even her own parents aren’t safe for her powers. Only Eric and Justin, fellow Haustrix, are immune.

Mailee needs to suck love everyday, unless she wants to die of starvation. She doesn’t want to take someone’s love completely away, so the only thing she can do is take little bit’s a time. She can’t mingle with other people, otherwise she could accidentally suck them dry.

Everything changes when a new girl transfers to the school, Joanne. She radiates so much love, it’s hard for Mailee to stop salivating every time she is near. Which is often, since she wants to be friends with Mailee! At the same time Mailee discovers a box her brother Matt left for her. In it is everything she needs to become a human! Wow, becoming human and getting a friend… This is too good to be true! And it is: the only way to become human is to let the Seven Deadly Sins live in your body for a week, including Lust. The Sin that made her brother fail….

Well… It’s hard for me to describe the feelings I experienced while reading this book. At the moment it’s one big heap and I can’t separate them, which makes giving my opinion a bit difficult, although I’ll try.

I liked reading this book, it has a nice concept and characters, but Mailee annoyed me at times. Especially when she was “drunk” on a Sin, or a couple of them. I know a person can’t be in her right mind when she’s got rage raging through her veins. But her actions still annoyed me. And me feeling annoyed because of how she acted when she was under influence didn’t sit well with me either, cause there is a perfect explanation for her actions. And then I started feeling annoyed again with the next Sin. Aka I went in circles between feeling annoyed and feeling annoyed because I’m annoyed while there’s a perfect explanation for Mailee’s behavior. I know this is a bit cryptic, but I hope you guys understood what I felt. That’s why I can’t sort my feelings out, they are still in that loop….

Maybe the reason I felt so annoyed was because I didn’t get to know the REAL her. We meet the real Mailee briefly in the beginning, but before there was a connection between me and her, she receives the first Sin. And she continues acting on what the Sin wants, so it was hard for me to filter between what was the real Mailee and what the Sins actions were. This made it difficult for me to like and bond with her and it made the story less captivating.

Speaking of the story, it wasn’t what I expected. Okay I did know the Seven Deadly Sins were involved and she has to go through each of them, but in a week? I preferred it if there was more time. More time so I could find out  what the influence of each Sin on Mailee and her surroundings are. More time to find out if it’s really the Sin and not Mailee who’s behind the action. A clearer struggle between Mailee and the Sins ministrations. Cause at the moment it felt like there’s a sudden burst of sinfulness and then we don’t ever see or hear something from said Sin again. Weren’t they imprisoned? Don’t they want to escape after all those years? If there was a bit more attention given to this, the story could have been so much more interesting that way.

There’s just one thing though that I have to share: the very first sentence of the book. It pulled me into the story, raised my expectations, although those sadly didn’t come true. But this sentence is still worth sharing, it’s that good:

Eric was the biggest playboy trapped in a virgin’s body I would ever know.

Conclusion

2 HEARTS. Writing this down did help with sorting out my feelings ^^ I even managed to come to a conclusion: it was OK to read this book. It has a nice story and characters, but I expected a bit more. However, the time each Sin was given, was too short. Which made it difficult for me to get to know the real Mailee. Therefore I didn’t get to bond with her. That’s a bit of a shame, since it made the book less captivating for me.

Get the book

What did you think of it? Please leave a comment 😉

Published by

Witchmag

I'm a student, avid reader and love to read books with shifters in it ;)

What do you think?

