Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian by Jennifer L. ArmentroutTitle: Obsidian
Series: Lux, #1
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
ISBN: 9781620610077
Tags: Young Adult, Romance, Science Fiction, Aliens
Hearts: ♥ ♥ ♥

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Review

Katy stares at all the boxes still surrounding her. It’s two days after their move and she still hasn’t finished unpacking. Even worse, the internet connection has not yet been set up, so no updating her book blog. Sigh….. Suddenly she smells a familiar smell. O no! Mom is cooking! She hurries downstairs to save at least something, but to no avail.

During breakfast (what was left of it) her mother tells her that the neighbors have two kids her age. So her mom hopes that maybe this time she won’t stay like a hermit in her room, but will try to socialize. Reluctantly Katy goes to her neighbors to “ask for directions.” When it opens she sees a young men standing there. Shirtless. 

Katy can’t take her eyes of his torso. When she finally manages to drag her eyes upwards, she’s only met with two piercing green eyes in a handsome face. Wow! What a hunk! And then he opens his mouth…. Okay the outside may look good, but that doesn’t say a thing about the inside! And that’s the start of her rocky relationship with Daemon, full of bickering and arguing. Daemon, who’ll play an important role in her future…

This book started really good. Katy moves with her mom, after her father’s death, to a quiet village somewhere in West Virginia. She meets her new neighbors, who act a little strange sometimes. A fun fact was that Katy is a passionate YA blogger. It’s not something that you read about often, while there’s lot’s of people blogging out there ^^

At this point I’m quite bored to always read about someone who moves or a new kid who arrives at school to get the story started. Why can´t things change, without a new kid or new place? Although, sometimes, there’s just no other way around it. And it’s not a bore if it’s done right, if it enhances the story. As is the case with Obsidian, there’s a plausible motive (death of Kathy’s father) and it doesn’t feel like a cliché.

I liked how throughout the story little hints are dropped till the real identity of Daemon and Dee were revealed. And it was even better than I expected! Although I was surprised with the way Daemon handled it. I loved the whole revelation and what Daemon and his sister are and what they can do. And it’s so refreshing, so not the usual I’m-a-werewolf/witch/vampire stuff! Nope he’s an alien! Although the big revelation didn’t sit quite well with me when thinking about his character. He’s trying to protect his little sister at all costs. So you wouldn’t think that once he’s seen, he automatically tells EVERYTHING? He might have been able to cover it up (although that would have been some explaining!).

Usually I like it when we have our romantic couple bickering about almost every little thing, while making very funny remarks about one another. Here, however, the bickering was a bit too much. From the very first page Daemon and Katy have been at each others throats. Although short truces have been made, they didn’t last long and the fights started to get predictable and a bit annoying. That also had an impact on how I enjoyed the romance time. Or the lack thereof.

The ending seemed a bit too fast, it felt like I’d pushed on the fast forward button instead of the play button. Therefore there was some difficulty with keeping track of the story. But the ending did make me curious for the next book. I hope there’s some explaining about what exactly happened during the last couple of pages. And I got the feeling that a certain someone will make his appearance,  so that made me even more curious to continue this story ^^

Conclusion

3 HEARTS. A solid start, with lots of hints and pieces of the puzzle to keep you interested. After the big revelation my concentration dropped and it became a bit confusing. Daemon and Katy argued a bit too much during the story, which was annoying after some time. The ending was a couple of gears too high, but it did manage to spark my interest for the next book.

Get the book

What did you think of it? Please leave a comment 😉

Lux

  1. Obsidian
  2. Onyx
  3. Opal
  4. Origin (Not Yet Published)

Related Articles

Published by

Witchmag

I'm a student, avid reader and love to read books with shifters in it ;)

2 thoughts on “Review: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout”

  1. I’m happy to see others agree with me about Katy x Daemon bickering. It honestly was just too much. Will you be reading sequel? I’m still thinking about it!

    Like

    1. To be honest, I started reading the sequel. But then…. Katy turns into someone entirely different from the great girl she used to be. She turns into one of those annoying people that don’t tell important information. Someone who thinks she knows best. I just couldn’t continue to with the book. I’m still not sure if I should give it a second chance…

      Like

What do you think?

