Blue Mondays (12): War Horse by Michael Morpurgo

Blue Mondays

Monday mornings are the toughest mornings. Knowing the weekend is over and you’ll have to go to school or work again… But here is my solution: Blue Mondays!  Every Monday I will pick an awesome book, which I hope will make the week almost bearable for you. Cause reading it will make you forget about everything else! And before you know it, weekend has started once again ^^

War Horse by Michael Morpurgo

In 1914, Joey, a beautiful bay-red foal with a distinctive cross on his nose, is sold to the army and thrust into the midst of the war on the Western Front. With his officer, he charges toward the enemy, witnessing the horror of the battles in France. But even in the desolation of the trenches, Joey’s courage touches the soldiers around him and he is able to find warmth and hope. But his heart aches for Albert, the farmer’s son he left behind. Will he ever see his true master again?

And it’s Monday again! Time to pick this weeks read, which will make you forget there’s work, school and all the boring obligations and will help passing the time till it’s weekend once again!

For this week I was in the mood for a book that would make me cry. I know this may be weird, but sometimes I just want books to make me cry. To affect me so much I can’t do something else but bawl. Therefore I chose War Horse by Michael Morpurgo. This is an older book, but it still makes me forget about the world and cry. Yup lots of crying for this one. This book was even made into a movie (one I still have to see -.- ), so that has to mean something, right?

The story is about a horse, Joey, during the World War I, and is read through the eyes of  Joey. It was very hard at times to read about everything that happened. Wars are no fun, but most books center around the humans. No one even thinks about the animals that help humans. Of all the sacrifices they made for their masters. That really got me thinking about the courage and love those animals had… and made me bawl again ;). I recommend this to everyone who just wants to cry every once in a while and who loves animals and bravery.

Interested? Get your copy here.

Published by

Witchmag

I'm a student, avid reader and love to read books with shifters in it ;)

2 thoughts on “Blue Mondays (12): War Horse by Michael Morpurgo”

What do you think?

