Review: The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kade

The Gost and the Goth by Stacey KadeTitle: The Ghost and the Goth
Series: The Gost and the Goth, #1
Author: Stacey Kade
Publisher: Hyperion
ISBN: 978142312487
Tags: Young Adult, Romance, Ghosts, Paranormal
Hearts: ♥ ♥ ♥

Alona Dare–Senior in high school, co-captain of the cheerleading squad, Homecoming Queen three years in a row, voted most likely to marry a movie star… and newly dead.

I’m the girl you hated in high school. Is it my fault I was born with it all-good looks, silky blond hair, a hot bod, and a keen sense of what everyone else should not be wearing? But my life isn’t perfect, especially since I died. Run over by a bus of band geeks—is there anything more humiliating? As it turns out, yes—watching your boyfriend and friends move on with life, only days after your funeral. And you wouldn’t believe what they’re saying about me now that they think I can’t hear them. To top it off, I’m starting to disappear, flickering in and out of existence. I don’t know where I go when I’m gone, but it’s not good. Where is that freaking white light already?

Will Killian–Senior in high school, outcast, dubbed “Will Kill” by the popular crowd for the unearthly aura around him, voted most likely to rob a bank…and a ghost-talker.

I can see, hear, and touch the dead. Unfortunately, they can also see, hear and touch me. Yeah, because surviving high school isn’t hard enough already. I’ve done my best to hide my “gift.” After all, my dad, who shared my ability, killed himself because of it when I was fifteen. But lately, pretending to be normal has gotten a lot harder. A new ghost—an anonymous, seething cloud of negative energy with the capacity to throw me around—is pursuing me with a vengeance. My mom, who knows nothing about what I can do, is worrying about the increase in odd incidents, my shrink is tossing around terms like “temporary confinement for psychiatric evaluation,” and my principal, who thinks I’m a disruption and a faker, is searching for every way possible to get rid of me. How many weeks until graduation?

Add to Goodreads

Review

It’s early in the morning. Alona hurries from school to her home. She’s furious. Why is she the one who has to take care of things, again? In a fit she angrily leaves a message on the answering machine. She’s so enraged she doesn’t see the red light when she crosses the street, only to be knocked off her feet by the oncoming school bus…

Okay, that was obviously the was she died. But where is that light? At first she was a little dazed, but then she starts to realize the ugly truth: it’s not a dream. Her father wouldn’t be crying otherwise. Next stop was her funeral, which the whole school attended. They even made bracelets with her name on it!

The next day the light still hasn’t arrived. Tired of waiting Alona decides to visit the school, to see everyone mourning her death. She’s very surprised to see no one is wearing the bracelet! Not even the people she called friends! The topping on the cake is when she sees her best friend exchange saliva with her boyfriend. She’s livid! So livid that she starts screaming and she slowly begins to disappear, while no one can see or hear her…. Till “Will Kill” looks her directly in the eyes and smirks….

Will know he shouldn’t have done that. All his live he’s had the ability to see ghosts and he’s learned that the best way to cope with them is to act if they aren’t there. But the temptation was too hard to resist when he saw Alona lying there. He just didn’t know the chain reaction he put into action with that little gesture….

 What a lovely book this was! And with a great concept ^^ I believe that this would be my first time reading a book where the main protagonist dies at the beginning of the story. That little fact made reading this book even more fun. And although I’m not usually someone who’s very fond on ghosts (except for funny comments) I totally embraced them in this book ^^ Alona makes a very funny ghost ^^

While Alona as a ghost is funny, she herself is awesome. Although I’d wish she stopped behaving haughty and a little bit less touchy ^^ Normally I find it hard to read and like that type of people, but Alona wormed a way into my heart. She acted like she didn’t mean half of what she said and in reality is just someone who means well, but is a bit clumsy in bringing her point across. Or she is just someone who plainly says what comes up in her mind. Brilliant!

I liked Will too, although he has some things he has to digest. But the way he interacts with Alona couldn’t be better ^^ I could feel the sparks flying when they were speaking to each other. And I love his fixation on her legs ^^ He’s obviously no boob-man, but a leg-man ;). Still, he has much to learn on girl territory, but he has an excellent teacher: Alona ^^

As I said earlier I really liked this concept! This isn’t the usual Ghostwhisperer story, but one with a definite twist about being a ghost. You even have spirit guides! I also liked Will’s explanation of how the world works with all the energy, how ghosts come into being and his place among them. It was really thought through and credible.

Conclusion

3 HEARTS. A nice and funny story, with two great protagonists. They have a great chemistry between them and make you laugh out loud often. The concept was innovative and well thought through. I can’t wait to read the next book!

Get the book

What did you think of it? Please leave a comment 😉

The Ghost and the Goth

  1. The Ghost and the Goth
  2. Queen of the Death
  3. Body and Soul
Published by

Witchmag

I'm a student, avid reader and love to read books with shifters in it ;)

What do you think?

